Heartland Credit Union - Bank like you own the place.
Heartland Credit Union
Heartland Credit Union

About Heartland Credit UnionAbout Us

The Credit Union was founded in 1946 in Springfield, Illinois with 27 charter members. Today, Heartland Credit Union is a source for more than just credit. We are a home town institution offering complete member services for every financial need. Heartland Credit Union provides service to more than 27,000 members at four convenient locations in Springfield, as well as on-line and mobile/phone access.

Our Mission:
To Improve Members' Lives

Core Values - Service, Integrity, Respect, Leadership and Reliability
Heartland Credit Union's core values define the values that inspire the actions of our staff regarding the members we serve. They are a part of our culture and guide us as we pursue our mission.

Benefits of a Credit Union
A credit union is a unique provider of financial services. It is a not-for-profit financial cooperative, owned by the members it serves. These members are individuals that have a common bond with each other. (Example - A group of people who reside in the same general geographic area.) There are no stockholders or investors. Earnings are returned to the member/owners through lower loan rates, higher dividends and fewer fees.

Volunteer Board of Directors
Heartland Credit Union’s board of directors consists of nine volunteers elected by the general membership. Elections take place at the annual meeting, held the first quarter of each year. Also elected by the general membership are three supervisory committee members. These dedicated men and women provide general direction over the business and affairs of Heartland Credit Union.

How to become a member

Membership is available to anyone who resides or works  in one of the following counties:

  • Cass County
  • Macoupin County
  • Christian County
  • Madison County
  • Dewitt County
  • Menard County
  • Logan County
  • Montgomery County
  • McLean County
  • Morgan County
  • Macon County
  • Sangamon County

Or is employed by:

  • United States Government
  • Memorial Health System and controlled affiliates of Memorial Health System
  • SIU School of Medicine
  • Southern Illinois Airport  Authority
  • Springfield Mass Transit District

Or a member of:

  • Gospel Kingdom Church
  • Laborers' Local belonging to any District Council part of the Midwest Region
  • Laborers International Union of North America (LIUNA)

*Immediate family members include relatives by blood or marriage or foster and adopted children of credit union members.

Qualified persons interested in enjoying the benefits of HCU may call our phone center at 217-726-8877 or apply online

Seven Cooperative Principles for Credit Unions

  1. Voluntary Membership
    Credit unions are voluntary, cooperative organizations, offering services to people willing to accept the responsibilities and benefits of membership, without gender, social, racial, political or religious discrimination.

    Many cooperatives, such as credit unions, operate as not-for-profit institutions with volunteer board of directors. In the case of credit unions, members are drawn from defined fields of membership.

  2. Democratic Member Control
    Cooperatives are democratic organizations owned and controlled by their members, one member one vote, with equal opportunity for participation in setting policies and making decisions.

  3. Members’ Economic Participation
    Members are the owners. As such they contribute to, and democratically control, the capital of the cooperative. This benefits members in proportion to the transactions with the cooperative rather than on the capital invested.

    For credit unions, which typically offer better rates, fees and service than for-profit financial institutions, members recognize benefits in proportion to the extent of their financial transactions and general usage.

  4. Autonomy and Independence
    Cooperatives are autonomous, self-help organizations controlled by their members. If the cooperative enters into agreements with other organizations or raises capital from external sources, it is done so based on terms that ensure democratic control by the member and maintains the cooperative autonomy.

  5. Education, Training and Information
    Cooperatives provide education and training for members, elected representatives, managers and employees so they can contribute effectively to the development of the cooperative.

    Credit Unions place particular importance on educational opportunities for their volunteer directors, and financial education for their members and the public, especially the nation’s youth. Credit unions also recognize the importance of ensuring the general public and policy makers are informed about the nature, structure and benefits of cooperatives.

  6. Cooperation Among Cooperatives
    Cooperatives serve their members most effectively and strengthen the cooperative movement by working together through local, state, regional, national, and international structures.

  7. Concern for Community
    While focusing on member needs, cooperatives work for the sustainable development of communities, including people of modest means, through policies developed and accepted by the members.

    These seven principles are founded in the philosophy of cooperation and its central values of equality, equity and mutual self-help. They express, around the world, the principles of human development and the brotherhood of man through people working together to achieve a better life for themselves and their community.

Copyright © 2005 – Credit Union National Association, Inc.


Online Banking Login